PTA Council 2019-2020 

    Executive Board

    President - Katie DeNoyelles

    Vice President - Linda Prezioso

    Treasurer- Linda Gibbons

    Recording Secretary- Michelle Rose

    Corresponding Secretary- Jenny Ann Lally

    Superintendent- John Xanthis 



    BOE Liaison - Sonia Lewis

    Founders’ Night- Lori Weikel and Vivian Durso

    Health and Safety- Carolyn Wesenberg

    RIGHT Award- Linda Prezioso and Katie DeNoyelles

    Scholarship- Lisa Kuenzi

    Staff Liaison-Vivian Durso

    Web Page- Carolyn Wesenberg and Jenny Ann Lally



    Berea PTO - Jenny Ann Lally

    EC PTA- Erin Card

    Montgomery PTA- Katie DeNoyelles

    Walden PTO- Holli Jaegar

    VCMS PTA Mary Kelly

    VCHS PTSA- Lisa Kuenzi 


     PTA/PTO Presidents

    Berea PTO - Kristen Milliken

    EC PTA - Josephine Pace Brown

    Montgomery PTA- Jennifer Wilson

    Walden PTO- Jennifer Burke/Dawn Sweed

    VCMS PTA- Tara LaPierre

    VCHS PTSA- Lori Weikel

    The purpose of a PTA Council is to provide a support system for all the individual PTA units within a school district.  The Council acts as a forum for the sharing of ideas, keeping all units well informed of any changes in the district that may affect our children and our community.  In addition, council helps the local units learn and apply good PTA practices.  The Valley Central Council connects our schools by holding regular meetings for its members.  Our members include representatives from our PTA units and we invite our PTO units to take part in all of our activities as well.  The Council acts as a link in the PTA "chain" and is a valuable resource in connecting the units to The Central Hudson Region PTA, The New York PTA and The National PTA.   

    The Valley Central PTA Council was founded in 1995.  The Valley Central PTA Council sponsors several programs that benefit both the children and the community members of our district. 

    • The RIGHT Awards
    • The Valley Central PTA/PTO Council Scholarships
    • Founders' Night
    • School Board Candidates Night

    Founders' Day is a reminder of the substantial role that PTA has played locally, regionally, and nationally in supporting parent involvement and working on behalf of all children and families. It's a time to reflect and take pride in our many accomplishments, and to renew our commitment to be a powerful voice for all children, a relevant resource for parents, and a strong advocate for public education.

     PTA's founders, Phoebe Apperson Hearst and Alice McLellan Birney, and the founder of Georgia's Congress of Colored Parents and Teachers, Selena Sloan Butler, were women of imagination and courage. They understood the power of individual action, worked beyond the accepted barriers of their day, and took action to literally change the world.  They had a simple idea - to improve the lives and futures of all of our children. As much as other conditions in America may have changed, that idea has not. PTAs keep it alive.

    Today, PTA is the largest volunteer child advocacy organization in the nation. Our members represent the ethnic diversity of our nation, and they come from the ranks of traditional families, single-parent households, blended families, grandparents, and other caring adults.  Together, we continue to serve as the conscience of the country for children and youth.

    The R.I.G.H.T Award

    R - Role model

    I - Initiative

    G - Goals

    H - Helpfulness

    T - To make a difference

    The R.I.G.H.T. Award is sponsored by the Valley Central PTA Council.  This awardis dedicated to acknowledging the youth of the Valley Central School District who have demonstrated an exceptional contribution within our community.  It is the goal of the Valley Central PTA Council to foster the belief that “good kids” deserve recognition.  It is our hope that the positive deeds of our youth will serve to enhance the quality and integrity of our entire community.

     Honorary Life Members


    1996   Susan Smith

    1997   Beverly Ouderkirk

    1998   Arthur Nugent

    1999   Fred Flood

    2000   Gary and Betsy Ott

    2001   Alice Morilla

    2002   Kathy Lewis

    2003   Bill Michella

    2004   Peter Roden

    2005   Robert Santo

    2006   John Hunter

    2007   Susan Rossi

    2008   Kevin McFadden

    2009   Douglas Coberly

    2010   Jeanne Marie Flanagan

    2011   Chris Ann Harper-O’Connor

    2012   Elaine Shultz

    2013   Lynn Adler

    2014   Dawn Moore

    2015   Amy McKenna, Erin Sherry

    2016   Jennifer and Joe Kinsley

    2017   Wanda Heaney, Tim Hinspeter, Stephen Kelly, Kathy Lennon

    2018   Vivian Durso, Artie DeRonda

    2019   Mel, Carolyn, Sonia and Jada Wesenberg

    2020   Randi Carroll and Jennifer Bissinger



Last Modified on March 5, 2020